Manaiakalani Film Festival – Sione and the La

Talofa, Malo ē lelei & welcome to our movie “Sione and the La”.

At our kura we are very fortunate to be surrounded by beautiful beaches and landscape. At the beach featured in this movie, you can see the Auckland airport from here and other parts of our amazing community too. We wanted to share with you all our very own maara (garden). In our garden we have lots of fruits and vegetables growing in garden beds, a beehive (that our bees produce honey in) and animals too. Our pigs are named Pretzel and Kaupakapaka and they are our eating machines at school that our tamariki help to feed. We also have six chickens that lay eggs and our tamariki can collect them.

Have you heard of Maui and the Sun? Well, here’s our version with a twist of Weymouth Primary School on it. We hope you like it!

52 thoughts on “Manaiakalani Film Festival – Sione and the La

  1. Hello my name is Dakauda and I m from Pt England school. I thought you movie was good thank you for sharing your idea with us .

    1. Hello room 18,

      We are Reidehn and Matiu from Room 14. We really like your story about Sione and the La. The best part we liked about the movie was when they beat up the sun and when they were all in the beach picking pipi’s.

      Did you all have fun making the movie?

      From Reidehn and Matiu.

  2. Fakaalofa lahi atu Ms Lavakula and Room 18!

    Our class really enjoyed watching your movie at the film festival yesterday. We couldn’t believe how big those pigs were and we thought that it was great that you have a garden and chickens that lay eggs. Great movie! We loved the modern twist on a well known story about Maui and the Sun. Well done!

    Mrs Lagitupu and Room 7 literacy class
    Pt England School

  3. Kia ora room 18

    I really like the title of your movie. And i also like the part when krayven was getting beat up. I really laughed so much.

    Maybe next time you could make it longer.

    Anyways i will speak soon

  4. Kia ora Room 18.

    I loved watching your movie, Your movie was funny. Also adding on your guys movie title was awesome.

    Well keep on the awesome work, see you soon.

  5. Kia Ora Room 18.
    What a great movie you all created. I love the Weymouth primary version of Maui and the sun. We love your school garden and our favourite is your animals, the pigs and chicken. Is it hard to look after your school animals???
    You are all amazing.
    From Room 12 at Homai school.

  6. hi Rm 18 its Maryjane from RM 14 i like how u put a lot of detail in it and even went to the beach to do it and the sun was funny and also when the sun was making the sad faces that was also funny.

    how long did this take?

  7. Hi room 18,
    It is Yahmani from room 14 and I think that you’r movie is so cool to me and and i enjoyed seeing my brother and his friends in the movie.

    How long did it take to film the movie?

  8. KIA Ora room 18.
    My name is Max from room 14.
    (weymouth primary).
    I liked how Craven was happy at the start and sad at the end.
    This reminded me of how Maui slowed the sun but the weymouth way.
    Did you actually hurt Craven or was he laughing?.
    From Max.

    Max..

  9. Hi, my name is Tahleeya-Jaye. I liked watching your video because it was funny. I laughed when Kraven was the sun. How long did it take to film it?

  10. Kia ora Room 18,

    I am Azima from Room 14.

    I really liked your story it was really funny and interesting.
    It reminded me of Maui and the sun.
    How many times did you get the script wrong?

    Azima.

  11. Hi room 18,
    my name is Armani i’m from Room 14 and It is super helpful and not to be mean Its a little bit funny. How long did it take you guys to film.
    I like how my brother and his friends were in the video.and the girls.

  12. Kia ora Room 18,

    My name is Shanalia.

    I really liked your story because it was funny
    when the sun was happy and sad .

    It reminded me of the legend of the sun.

    Who did the animations?

  13. hello my name is Lincoln.
    I like the sun because it was so funny when you were hitting the sun.anyway it was a good movie I loved it.
    Who was the camera man?

  14. Hello my name is James and Im in rm 14. I liked how you guys used krayyven as the sun it was really funny and I liked how moo law la and Sione was beating up krayyven
    Iv’e got a question who was the camera man also who was the person that was talking about the story.

  15. HI my name is norah-Le RM 14 the Sun was really funny and I like it how they Where in the mara. I like when they where at the Beach. i wonder how long it was filming all of that.

  16. Hello,
    My name is Charlie and I liked your video.
    I liked that part that the sun came up and the sun was lazy .I liked the sun when the sun watches tiktok and sleeps a lot. I like the sun was crying.
    who pick the song?
    who was the camraman?

  17. Kia ora Room 18, I really liked the sun he is funny and the movie is great.
    It reminded me of how Maui slowed down the sun.
    How long did it take you to mike the movie
    and who made the animation? form Mooken

  18. Kia ora Room 18,

    I’m Jorja from Room 14

    I really liked sun’s animation It was really cool but it was quite confusing for me.
    How was the beach, did you catch any crabs?

  19. hello Room 18. My name is Taha and i really like the garden the way you did the Maui and the sun is probably the bested verison. I like the sun it was really funny with the song it fitted the video really well.Who recorded the video ?it was really good recording by the way .

  20. Kia ora Room 18, I really liked your movie Sione and the La. It was Really Funny to watch because when it said the sun was Lazy and he always liked watching tik toks and liked to sleep alot. It reminded me of How Maui Slowed the sun Down.

    who did the Animation ?

    And who Done the

  21. Kia ora Room 18,

    I,m Lei from Room 14. I liked your story about Sione and the La.The best part I liked was the sun, because it was really funny and it made me laugh.

    How long did it take to do the movie, and did you all have fun?

    From Lei.

  22. Kia ora Rm 18

    My name is Brydee-Leah and I love the way there is positivity in your film and going places to creat your film
    chat later Brydee-Leah😁

  23. Kia Ora Room 18

    I just wanted to say I really enjoyed watching your Film you guys put together. I loved the humour in you video and the music you added to it. Room 11 enjoyed going to the film festival with you. It was amazing.

    Keep up the great work

    Ka kete
    Brydee-Leah

  24. Wow room 18.

    I enjoyed watching your film you guys put together. I liked the music you guys selected too. We enjoyed attending the film festival with you to Sylvia Park. We can’t wait to attend again next year.

    Keep up the great digital learning

    Bye for now
    Emeline

  25. Hi my name is Rowleta.

    I go to Otahuhu primary school. I think this film is very very funny. My favourite scene is when Sione and his friends went to La and gave him a hidding it was really funny.

  26. Kia ora Room 18.
    My name is heremia

    This movie was HILLARIOUS! Thank you so much for making me laugh today. I felt very good watching this. This feels like old-day tonga and modern-day new york in 1. HILLARIOUS!!!

    Also my favourite part was when you beat up genesis
    That was just top notch end of the line HILLARIOUS!!!!!!! XD

    Till’ next time!
    -Heremia

  27. Talofa lava room 18

    I really loved your movie and my favourite part is when Villiami and them were getting in trouble by Xzandra -Leigh and Alyssa and it was very funny

    Maybe next time u can make it more longer

    Bye for now

  28. kia ora
    Room 18 my name is Moe and I’m in room 20, I loved how you were so confident about the film you made.

  29. Hello Room 18
    My name is Azriel,

    And I am really suprised about how good this film was and how good this video was edited. I really enjoyed the part when Krayven was beated up, It got me laughing.

    Talk to you later.

  30. I love how you put sound effects and funny pictures i really enjoyed watching the video and students beating up krayven….

    Ma te Wa

  31. Hi , Room 18 my name is Papataia .

    I’m from Room 20 in Weymouth Primary School. I really like this movie film and find it super super funny and hilarious.
    I love the scenes when the sun comes out and how funny the face is! ,
    and also the scene when La got a hiding from Sione and his friends.

  32. Talofa lava room 18 my name is Kayla

    I think this film was hilarious to watch.My favourite scene is when Sione and his friends went to La and gave him a massive hiding for being lazy, and being on his phone all day that part was hilarious.Keep up the funny work Room 18

    Manuia le aso.

  33. Kia Ora Weymouth my name is Callai lol I really enjoyed your movie Sione and the La. You guys made the movie funny which made is hillarious to watch. Thanks for the laugh.

  34. Talofa im Paulo from Weymouth Primary School I like watching this because it is so funny. my favourte part is when sione and his friends smack La

  35. Talofa lava Room 18,
    I am in Room 20.
    I think this film is extremely humorous and hilarious.My favourite part was when La was beaten up by Sione and his friends.
    Bye for now,
    By Blessing

  36. Hello room 18

    i really like your movie It is very cool and it is also funny i really like it and it is hilarious and i like the part were krayven was getting beat up and he look so funny when he was sleeping

  37. Hi my name is Ivan from room 20 at WPS. I like the part when Krayven was geting bet up it was really funny you should make it longer see you soon.

  38. Hi my name is Meleane and i am from Homai Primary School.

    I did not like the part when people were hitting and bunching other be kind.

  39. hello My name is Ayes my part was the sun going and also the boys hunting but the part I dont was two boys hiting the other boy and that was sad so i’ll see you later ka kita

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *